Foundations: From where the air is still warm, and the stars are mirror images

Hullo! My name is Tegan! I am another proud and passionate member of the Kindred Collective, writing to you from the stinking hot city of Mleboune, Australia!
I am a lover of art and creation in all its forms, although I mostly stick to writing poetry, short stories and the never-ending manuscript that will hopefully one day become my first novel. You can find some of my previous word babies on my blog Because We’re Dead, and my solo poetry zine project at Poetry Mixtape (which all members of the collective are invited to contribute to, and any lovely readers too!). However, this year I am wanting to branch out into all kinds of artistic self expression, regardless of whether I’m any good at it or not; although I’m not a big resolution keeper, I have decided that 2013 will be the year of creative experimentation, and I really think that this Collective will allow me to stick to that. So a big hooray to Ashley for bringing us together!

When I think of the word ‘Foundation’, the first thing that comes to mind is earth. Now as much as part of me would like to have the rich, red earth that my country is so proud of below my feet, I have always lived in a very metropolitan city, and am sometimes hard pressed to find any earth, brown, red or otherwise, to dig my toes into. I think about how poorly we’ve been treating the earth, the very foundation of our existence, and it makes me sad, and scared for the future.

I also think of genetics, (I used to want to be a scientist, and I even went to University to study it, before I realised that as much as I love science, I do not possess a scientists brain). I think of how aspects of my temperament and personality are predetermined at birth, just like my hair, eye and skin colour,; I am shy, anxious, a pretty poor public speaker, and can at times find it difficult to articulate my thoughts and feelings in conversation. I guess that’s why I’m a part of so many online groups and projects! I am what Susan Cain, author of the-book-that-is-currently-changing-my-life-forever, Quiet*, refers to as a highly sensitive personality. My feelings are easily hurt, I can dwell for hours on things that other people might just toss aside, and fall into extended bouts of anxiety or melancholy (especially when I have coffee, which I have decided to give up).But I can also be overcome with euphoric bursts of joy; I have been known to burst into tears at concerts, or while listening to songs that move me, usually on trains. Or when I’m writing.

Writing is an essential part of my own personal foundation; I am genetically predisposed to be a writer, and that gives me great comfort, and a sense of purpose. My love of words took form in conjunction with my bones, my flesh, my eyes and ears and arms and legs and fingers and toes. And since then, it has been nurtured by books, by teachers, by like-minded friends, by my father, who gave me my first notebook and pen when I was five years old. And now by this Kindred Collective.

I can’t wait to see what we have to put out into this great expanse of data and creation called the Internet! I have visions of the slow blooming of tropical flowers and fireworks exploding and quiet beauty and shooting stars.

Faithfully yours,

Tegan.

*If any of the personality traits I have just mentioned sound familiar, or even if you’re just not quite sure where a person like you fits into the world, you should read this book. It has changed the way I feel about myself forever, for the better, and I can’t keep something as wonderful as this to myself.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Foundations: From where the air is still warm, and the stars are mirror images

  1. I loved this post! And what you described sounds like me exactly – will read that book as soon as I can get my hands on it πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks lovely! You seriously should, she such a unique perspective on the introverted lifestyle that really resonates with me πŸ™‚

  3. jennifer

    Tegan, this post! I loved it. And I can’t wait to get my hands on that book, and it’s comforting to know I’m not the only one πŸ™‚

  4. xoxoxo tegan!!! thank you for the book recommend. i love reading your words and thoughts and insights! xoxox yay, kindred collective!!! massive hugs!

  5. Hi, Tegan. Thanks for sharing. I look forward to getting to know you here. Ps, I’m a total introvert, too.

  6. I gave up coffee too because I’m anxious. Now I’m obsessed with herb teas.

  7. Yeah I’m pretty much a tea fanatic now! hehe! Thankyou guys for your lovely words! I’m so glad you want to read the book, I’m only halfway through and already it’s completely changed my life perspective. I feel more comfortable in my own skin than I have since I was a very young child. Can’t wait to read your posts πŸ™‚ xo

Leave a Reply

