[sic] recipe: vegetarian sausage and black bean quesadilla

sausage_black_bean_sage_quesadilla

Okay, so I tried thinking of a bunch of things to do for this week, and I kept hitting brick walls. The playlist I made just didn’t excite me and everything I started to write felt bland. Then, while getting ready to make dinner yesterday, Ashley suggested I find a way to add sage to the recipe. It just so happens I have ground sage in my cabinet, et voila! My black beans took on a meatier taste and texture that complemented my vegetarian sausage! Some sage (heh) wisdom: seek advice from your friends, revel in collaboration, and see every day as an opportunity to create art. Without further ado:

Vegetarian sausage and black bean quesadilla

2-3 oz Gimme Lean vegetarian sausage

1/4 cup canned black beans (I love Goya, my mom’s been using them in the kitchen forever, and they have a great texture), drained and rinsed

1/4 cup chopped onions and peppers (I was pressed for time and used a bagged mix, but if you have time, use fresh)

2 slices muenster cheese

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp sage

1/2 tsp ground rosemary

1 small tortilla (I used Pepito whole wheat tortilla)

salt and pepper to taste

First, take the ground sausage protein and make a patty. Fry it up with a drizzle of olive oil in a pan. Next, sauté the chopped veggies until softened. I like having a little bit of bite to my veggies. When the veggies are just about where you want them to be, add the beans and the seasonings and cook until the beans are heated through. Then, assemble your quesadilla: Put one slice of muenster on either side of the tortilla. Cut the browned sausage patty in half and arrange on one side of the tortilla. Top with veggie-and-bean mixture. Slap the other side of the tortilla over so you have a nice little half moon. Now, you can cook your tortilla under the broiler if you want a fast, very crispy tortilla, in a toaster oven, or a portable Panini press or grill.

Final step: NOM NOM NOM!

sausage_black_bean_sage_quesadilla2

Enjoy!

[sic]

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “[sic] recipe: vegetarian sausage and black bean quesadilla

  1. I had no idea that sage could add meaty flavors! I have an unopened bottle I received as a gift… Maybe I’ll have to add it to my vegetarian dishes soon!

  2. jillydreadful

    You know what? I super love the direction this took. So unexpected–in the best way possible. Thank you!

  3. sage compliments beans and sausage so perfectly. when i am scraping around for things to eat in the house one of my favorite go-tos is a can of cannellini beans, tomato sauce, and sage. SO GOOD.

Leave a Reply

