[sic] theme: girls.

Girls. Women. Ladies. Witches, bitches, brujas, pendejas. Wonder Woman, Black Widow, Supergirl, Powerpuff Girls. Girly shows, drag queens, burlesque. Madonna, Lady Gaga, Lita Ford, Taylor Swift, Courtney Love, Gwen Stefani, virgin/whore. A brilliant mix of everything. Sugar, spice, everything nice, with a splash of absinthe. Princesses, prima donnas, sluts, prudes. Mommy, Amazon warrior, breadwinner, housewife. Fat bottom girl, skinny little bitch. Baby makers, birth controllers. We are so many things, or at least we are expected to be. Growing up in a household full of women, where men and boys were guests but never the main attraction, I am fascinated by the perceptions of women in society. My sisters’ birthdays are this week, so of course I have the girls and women that have shaped my life on the brain. Give it to me, members of the Collective! What do women mean to you? Who are the girls in your life? Give me stories of your inner children, mommyhood, bridezillas (talk about stereotypes!). Talk to me about the vagina, menstruation, sex, oppression, freedom, breast-feeding, girls’ night out–or in. Whatever the word “girls” sparks to you, bring it! (Even, yes, the show, which I will be discussing later in the week.) This goes for you too, dear reader. Comment, debate, let’s get this rolling.

Do you think I would leave you without some inspiration music? As if! This is for my sisters, two awesome, classy broads, and my niece, the coolest 11-year-old on the planet. They are truly my best girls.

girls_mix

who run the world? you already know.

Listen here: Kindred Collective: Girls

[sic]

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “[sic] theme: girls.

  1. I’m pretty psyched about this theme. I’ve been wanting to make a shrine or altar lately and this might be the perfect thing–all those poweful girls that I admire!

    Also, are your sisters twins or do they just have close birthdays?

  2. yesss! This is going to be so great! so many ideas!!! also, this playlist is amazing. I’m going to put it on my iPod, so I can keep it with me and listen to it whenever something or someone makes me feel like I don’t matter much

    • Yea! I love that you love the playlist! I adore making playlists; I hope to do one for every week! I think this one is my favorite, along with one I did recently for naptime at work. Gavin Friday, xx, First Aid Kit. Maybe I’ll post it here or on my personal blog sometime.

Leave a Reply

