Girl Type Thing

girltype

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about those quizzes they put in teen magazines:  “What Type of [ girlfriend, flirt, kisser, whatever] Are You?”  Like everyone can be so neatly categorized into five types.  And why do we need those labels, anyway?  Even as adults, we still seek them out, looking for kindreds.  Yes, I’m artsy.  Yes, I’m an introvert.  I’m a vegetarian, but not a vegan.  I say I’m a nerd, but I’ve never seen Star Wars.  I like Manic Pixie Dream Girls, but really I’m way too responsible to be one of those.  And, speaking of responsible, am I an adult?  At what point do I need to stop reading YA and start wearing clothes from somewhere other than the Junior’s section?

It’s this kind of thinking that really limits us.  What Type of Girl Am I?  None of the above.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Girl Type Thing

  1. Ohhh girl, I can relate to this. Most of the time the options in those quizzes were ones I wouldn’t even consider. I found myself picking what was closest to what I might do/ think / feel. And this whole idea of being an silt still baffles me. Because if “adult” means reason adult fiction, drinking coffee every morning and makin mortgage payments I’m not sure that title will ever be one for me.
    Xo

  2. Yessssss! This is so freaking awesome!

  3. I’ll stop shopping in the junior’s department when they put spunk and sexy in the women’s department.

  4. as a boy who never knew what kind of boy he was, let alone the kind of girl he was…..this is EPIC!!!!!

Leave a Reply

