I Am The Girl

So while trying once again to wrangle my beast of a manuscript, I noticed that I have quite a lot of female characters in my novel. As an exercise I tried to distill each girls essence into three sentences, loosely based around the tarot model of past, present and future.

Here’s what I came up with.

Ophelia

I am the girl with a soul like a star-gazer lily, and a mouth like an open rose. I am the girl who can line your skin with magic, embedded in ink. I am the girl who is certain to drown.

Keira

I am the girl with the spark and the tinder.  I am the girl who takes her beatings like a man. I am the girl who will be forced to believe in revenge.

Arabella

I am the girl with a heart born broken.  I am the girl dressed in cornflower blue. I am the girl who will get what she deserves.

Frankie (Francesca)

I am the girl from the black and white movies. I am the girl who wants you the most. I am the girl who is gone.

Perdita

I am the girl who was raised by the wild. I am the girl taking shots from the cacti. I am the girl with the healing hands.

I’ve also just noticed that all the names I’ve chosen for my girls end in ‘a’. Coincidence? Most definitely!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Am The Girl

  1. I can identify most with Perdita. But oh my god, Frankie! In one of the very first short stories I wrote, my next-to-main character’s name was Frankie (also a girl) who befriended a gay man dying of AIDs…the way you described your Frankie seemed to also be perfect for my Frankie. Anyway, just had to share that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

