Love

It’s been
Ten months
Since I saw
You

And still I remember
Your smell
And the things you said
Before you kissed
Me goodbye

And I’m sure
I’m crazy
Because our time
Together
Was so minimal

But still

My heart is reckless
I still smell you
While I sleep
I still want to talk to you
While I wake
I still want to ask

What
Happened?

My heart
Is wild
Chained in iron bars
Locked with skeleton key locks
Tenfold

Lock
Lock
Lock

And still you slipped through
Those cracks
Just as I was believing
You wouldn’t be that guy
You were

And my heart went wild
Slam jam cram kablam
Because that’s not supposed to
Happen
When a heart is so well protected
From the intentions of another soul.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Love

  1. I don’t think past loves really ever leave us, even if we’ve ‘let them go.’ We keep a part of them with us always. ❤

Leave a Reply

