Week 15: After Life

I had worked on write-ups for themes. Cyborgs. Candy. Fandom. But I didn’t necessarily like any of them. This is the one that kept lurking over my shoulder–I tried to ignore it. I thought: I’ve got these other ones more polished. I thought: but what about Boston? I thought: why are you always going to the dark places? But Death has been following me and mine lately, what with surgeries and hospitals and actual funerals. I keep having to look him in the eye–for me, Death is this man I used to know once upon a time. And Death necessarily makes me think about the After Life.

Feel free to interpret it how you might. After Life kinda reminded me of the half life of isotopes, which reminded me of radiocarbon dating, which got me to thinking about time. I liked how After Life can be applied to timelines. The poetic implication of a life lived in the aftermath. Plus, I especially enjoy the connotation of haunting as well. And I get really happy when concepts like haunting can be stretched out and redefined.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Week 15: After Life

  1. There were a lot of deaths in my life this past week – outwards deaths miles away, little deaths inside, people around me that I knew and loved that passed on. This is on my mind right now. Thank you for giving me an outlet with this theme ❤

  2. jillydreadful

    Same here. I didn’t necessarily want to dredge up up this stuff for me or anyone else. But I also couldn’t ignore it.

Leave a Reply

