[sic] innate free write

So, this might be terrible. I don’t even know. I woke up from another disturbing dream and just grabbed my pen. I wrote this whole thing with my eyes half-closed, in the real world but still hearing the screams of the dream world. Here’s what I came up with. I used to write a lot of poems like this, using wordplay, rapid fire poetry slam style.

i am always screaming

in my dreams

my voice is hoarse

from all this wailing

they are jailing

me

i am imprisoned by

transition

expectation

subordination

i am such a good girl

i hate being such a good girl

professional

accountable

responsible

while everyone else gets to act

reprehensible

lazy

i’m going fucking crazy

red hot rage

on this page

where’s my stage

let me out of this cage

sideshow freak

circus geek

biting the heads off of

barbie dolls

this plastic tastes terrible

bitter and hard

like my heart

like my resolve

i cannot solve

misogyny

apathy

mockery

but i can fight it

deflect it

reject it

i am stronger than you ever expected

don’t blink

or you’ll miss the amazing trick

where your actions literally make me sick

and i spew right onto your shoes

chunks of knowledge

bilious brew

erodes the very bones of you

climbs up your limbs like creeping death

dissolves you ’til there’s nothing left

hose you off the cold concrete

joyfully splash in your defeat

my skin bronzing in the heat

goddess of the sun

i have won

i have won.

I definitely want to edit it, but it makes the bones of a good poem, I think.

[sic]

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “[sic] innate free write

  1. fuck yeah. good bones indeed. (i don’t even think it needs an edit, actually.)

Leave a Reply

