Constellations: 2014 Week 1 Synchronicity

I’m in the process of learning how to use words in a cathartic way. Until now I most wrote for escape. I’m rusty at poetry and still broken hearted, but here’s a story.

Constellations

I believed in the
synchronicities
Of you
And me

I believed
The little green house
I drove by daily
The fact that
You spent three years
Just streets away

You always asked me
About the constellations

I wanted to
Draw lines between
Synchronicities
The same college
Same major
You had my friend as a professor

Make our own constellation
We didn’t need the gods in the sky

The day before I stopped believing
In our lives aligning
I decided to plan a trip to Portland
The same city she lived in

You are responsible
And I want to hold it against her
Remember the time she
Wanted me to know:
I had nothing to worry about
And I wasn’t even worried

When I asked
You said you believe things happen
For a reason
Like maybe this had to happen
For you to blossom
For me to break free
Fill myself with self love
Mourn the destruction of stars

& I forgave you
Because online flirting
Amateur and dumb
Doesn’t outweigh
The pull of my heart

But you couldn’t
Release blame on yourself

And so we wander
Lonely stars in a
Finite universe
Exchanging constellation
For coexistence
Slowly unwinding
We unalign

Xoxo
Melanie Kristy

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Constellations: 2014 Week 1 Synchronicity

  1. Pingback: The Kindred Collective: Synchronicities | Melanie.Kristy

  2. I don’t pretend to understand or “get” poetry but this had a lot of pretty lines and words that I really liked. I hope this counts as a compliment because I really do like some parts of this I just…don’t know poetry.

    xox

Leave a Reply

