2014 Week 1 “Synchronicity”: I Once Met A Man

Welcome to a new year everyone! I’m excited to get back in the swing of things! This theme is perfect for some of the things going on in my life right now! I haven’t had a manic depression attack in over a month, timing perfectly with meeting a guy who has me giddy as a tickled child! I have been taking a new approach towards life, backing away from my typical “rush into it” social mannerisms, pushing myself deeper and deeper into my various artistic outlets, and trying to organize myself a bit better. It is a brand new year, and it’s just getting started, so bare with me as it is an uphill struggle for me, and I’m getting a slow start.

This period’s theme is synchronicity, “the simultaneous occurrence of causally unrelated events and the belief that the simultaneity has meaning beyond mere coincidence.”. How I will illustrate my connection to this theme in this poem is to tell the story of a random, and chance meeting of someone who, to the naked eye, I have very little in common with…someone who ordinarily would have given me no notice, nor I him. Now, I am not one to believe in love at first sight(I tend to believe it is more often lust at first sight), but in the moment we finally met, there was a connection that felt both old, and new. Upon our meeting I suddenly felt that our chance meeting, while not directly explainable, was meant to be. Since we have been talking, my manic depression has lulled its ugly head, and I have been inexplicably more confident in myself. In short, I feel as though I truly understand synchronicity all because I once met a man.

I Once Met A Man, By EnigmA Jade
__________________________________________________________________________________

I once met a man. I knew him instantly upon gazing into his eyes.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly from the sound of his voice.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly by the way he carried himself.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly by the beat of his heart.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly by the depth of his soul.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly, but I didn’t know why.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly, and now I know why.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly, as if I had known him forever.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly, and now I am in love.
I knew that we were different.
I knew that our differences were superficial.

I once met a man. I knew him instantly.
I knew that I loved him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

